Aircel Makes Roaming Free in 5 Southern States

Bengaluru: Beginning this June, Aircel will not charge its customers in 5 southern states for incoming calls. Moreover, the customers need to pay only 1 paisa per second for making calls while they are on roaming in the region.

The news comes as a delight for many Aircel users as the offer will enable all existing and new prepaid and postpaid Aircel customers, to roam freely on Aircel network between the five states of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

The company is primarily investing in Bangalore (southern state) owing to the fact that it has added over 360 new towers in the state in the last six months both on 2G and 3G put together and plans to set up 200 more (towers) in next three to four months.

Aircel Karnataka Circle Business Head Kanwarbir Singh told reporters,

“We are launching the industry first on roaming, which is applicable to South India…. We have a uniform roaming tariff across South India….; this service will be applicable for existing and new customers of Aircel, whether on prepaid or on postpaid.”

The decision comes close on the grounds of new announcement made by TRAI (Telecom Regulatory Authority of India) of cutting down the maximum or ceiling rate that a telecom operator can charge for STD calls on roaming to Rs 1.15 per minute from Rs 1.5. All SMS and Pocket Internet packs however, remain unchanged and customers can continue their use as per already applicable rates and packs.

The offer rolled out for ‘Five States, One Rate’ scheme requires no separate recharge or pack activation and will be activated by default with effect from June 11, 2015, i.e. today.

The telecom operator leads in Tamil Nadu with over 2 crore subscribers.

It happens to be at the seventh and eighth positions respectively in Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh with over 27 lakh and 25 lakh subscribers respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *